Brunswick Memorial Hall 1894

The historic Brunswick Memorial Hall, also known as the Town Hall, stands pride of place on the main street of Brunswick and hosts many events.

This 19th-century building exudes timeless elegance with ornate ceilings, stained glass windows, and polished timber floors.

Capacity: Up to 300 people, including the Main and Lessor Hall, plus ancillary rooms and communal facilities.

Facilities: Stage, piano, kitchen facilities, disability access main and lessor halls.


The Hall was built in three stages on land donated by the Brunswick Farmers Association; the original Agricultural Hall in 1894, brick additions in 1926 and an enlarged brick building that replaced the Agricultural Hall in 1936.

The prominent architectural firm Cameron Powell & Chisholm and local builder, Mr Joseph Johnson, constructed the current Brunswick Memorial Hall. A portion of the original hall, including the main entrance, was retained. Sir James Mitchell opened it on 15 July 1936.

For generations, the people of Brunswick have used the hall for balls, weddings and functions. At one stage, it hosted weekly picture shows.

The entrance porch to one side, which contains an old ticket sales office, has a memorial plaque to the fallen soldiers of  1914-18. There is also a commemorative list of the fallen in World War 2 in the main hall.



  • Wheelchair-accessible entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible toilets
  • Public toilets
  • Family-friendly
  • Function facilities
  • Large group-friendly
  • Kitchen
  • Dining hall
Internal image of the Brunswick Memorial Hall

Weddings & Events

The Brunswick Memorial Hall oozes historical charm and creates a sophisticated backdrop that will add a touch of grandeur to your wedding celebration.



Back to Top of the page.