Sir James Stirling Commemorative Plaque 1837
- Baker Street, Harvey WA 6220, Australia
- Open 24 hours
He selected 12,800 acres of fertile land and called it The Harvey or Harvey River Estate.
At the end of Homestead Road, by the banks of the Harvey River, lies the original site of Sir James Stirling’s estate.
In 1951, His Excellency the Governor, Lt. Gen. Sir Charles Gairdner K.C.M.G. C.B. C.B.E, unveiled a plaque honouring his visit.
Sir James Stirling, R.N. pioneer, Governor Western Australia, was the first to explore this locality. He did so in 1837 and was so impressed by the fertility of the District that he selected a large area of land on part of which now stands the town of Harvey. He reached the banks of the Harvey River between this point and the town on April, 27, 1837. This plaque was erected by the Harvey Road Board to commemorate that event.